Cayman Islands Gaelic Football Club

Club History and about Cayman GAA

The first ever Cayman Gaelic football match was played between an Ulster 15 and a Rest of Ireland Select 15 at the Rugby Club in South Sound on July 18th, 1987.


The Ulster side captained by Noel Reilly (and unsportingly fielding former Cavan county player J.J. Reilly) started as favourites however it was the Brian Gillen lead Rest of Ireland side that took the spoils pulling away in the end to record a (2-9) to (2-5) victory over their Northern brethren.


Following on from this inaugural game it was decided that a second match be organized for St.Patrick's day 1988. This proved successful to the point that the football game now marks the centerpiece of the annual St.Patrick's day celebrations on these islands.


It is worth recording that the first ever Puc Fada competition took place back on St. Patrick's Day 1974 between Tommy Costello and Rory Healy - the result of which is still in dispute!


An informal men’s 7-a-side league was established in 1998. The team names; Western Gaels (Green), Wolfe Tones (White), Gabriels (Red) and Cabra Gaels (Blue) which were picked by the captains have been retained to this day.


Anthony Fallon organised the fabrication of transportable goal posts, an engineering feat in itself! with bankers Ben Gillooly, Sean Flynn, Joe Keane and Conor O'Dea generating generously to this cause.


Following the success of the league (over 40 players) it was decided to establish a formal club complete with constitution and officers and so a meeting of interested parties was held on May 19th, 1999.


The following officers were elected:


President: Rory Healy (Kerry)
Chairman: Adrian Lynch ( Limerick )
Secretary: Viv Morahan (Roscommon)
Treasurer: Noel Reilly (Cavan)
PRO: Dara Hurley (Wexford)


Anthony Fallon (Galway)
Mick Barnes ( Dublin )
Dermot Dennis ( Dublin )
Godfrey Cooke (Galway)
Gerry Gregg ( Dublin )
Paul Deegan (Wexford)
Dave Sheehan ( Cork )


The inaugural ladies football league was organised by Joan Connolly in 2001. The team names which were picked; Na Piarsaigh, Buffer’s Alley & Oliver Plunketts have also been retained by the ladies league ever since.


Past Chairpersons


1999 - 2000 Adrian Lynch ( Limerick )

2000 - 2001 Dave Nelson (Louth)

2001 - 2002 Dave Nelson (Louth)

2002 - 2003 Mick Kehoe (Wexford)

2003 - 2004 Roger Casey ( Waterford )

2004 - 2005 Roger Casey ( Waterford )

2005 - 2006 Ger Finnegan (Wexford)

2006 - 2007 Howard Byrne (Kildare)

2007- 2008  Howard Byrne (Kildare)

2008 - 2009 Brian Hurley (Limerick)

2009 - 2010 Brian Hurley (Limerick)

2010 - 2011 Micheál Ó Conghaile (Galway )

2011 - 2012  Paul Broderick  (Mayo)

2012 - present  David O'Connell  (Kerry)


Past Presidents


1999 - 2000 Rory Healy (Kerry)

2000 - 2001 Rory Healy (Kerry)

2001 - 2002 Michael Bradley (Antrim)

2002 - 2003 Michael Bradley (Antrim)

2003 - 2004 Michael Bradley (Antrim)

2004 - 2005 Michael Bradley (Antrim)

2005 - 2006 Rory Healy (Kerry)

2006 - 2007 Rory Healy (Kerry)

2007- 2008 Rory Healy (Kerry)

2008 - present Noel Reilly (Cavan)